Mirror’s Sideways, Just Like Always…

Amazon, Mustard and Hope… ❤

LAURA W.

APR 25, 2024

Share

Hello there wonderful friends.

Hope all is well in the world of my readers. 

I just got home from doing some errands that needed to get taken care of including an oil change for my car. My dear friend (and groomsman at our wedding) Tim just started working as a manager at a place nearby called Midas and I transferred there to get work done.  Tim used to help me out over at Mavis but yeah it was overdue for an oil change, and I decided to get it done this week but I’ve been sick most of the week.  I had a bad stomach bug or something, not really sure plus a nasty allergy attack that landed me at Urgent Care because I could not breathe.  All is fine now though but I am just glad to be honest it was not Covid or Covid related at all this time around.  Every other cold feels like Covid, except they’re not as intense.  I’m still every year going to get my boosters just FYI because I am a diabetic and the doctor who is a doctor, mind you… they recommend I get my vaccines.  Plus, my mother created vaccines (that worked) … also, some people tend to believe the vaccines eliminate you from getting sick.  That’s not true now.  Not whatsoever.  They lessen how bad your illness will be, so there’s that.  I’m glad I got my vaccines because last time (back in January) when I got the Vid again, I could not breathe and was relying on inhalers and I’m glad I had those too! 

*One of the trees I’m probably allergic to— it gives us Apples in late summer*

So anyway, Amazon deliveries seem moronic lately.  I don’t know who is packing this shizzle but come on.  Usually, they pack it in too many boxes, but not today when I actually needed the box for this so it wouldn’t get dirty.  I bought my nephew a t-shirt for Fortnite (a video game he enjoys—he will be 8 tomorrow)(HAPPY BIRTHDAY THEO!)… anyways, I got him a t-shirt and they didn’t even put it in a box today.  How lazy.  Sorry.  I do love Amazon and how easy delivering and getting stuff is to our homes, but like, this is just kind of unacceptable.  The shirt got a mark on it through the packaging that had a hole ripped through it.  Gross.  The shirt thankfully is intact, but whatever.  @Amazon  … do better.  I was going to get a gift card too for VBucks which goes along with the game, but if I order it off Amazon, half the time the person delivers it to the wrong house.  A gift card is so easy to steal—I don’t need that kind of frustration.  Maybe if they weren’t on their earbuds on the phone while delivering it and were paying attention to what they were doing they would get it right?  I don’t know, that’s my two cents (sense) on the matter. 

In other news though, Hope was doing so much better and seems to be doing so much better than she was (not really sure why—but as I’ve mentioned before, I’m grateful for it and will take anything I can get with her being well health wise!) …  but she did have a couple of minor setbacks this morning.  She is ravenous almost 24/7 now which is a characteristic of her diabetes mellitus and it could be hyperthyroidism.  I am aware of these characteristics and traits because my cat Olli (who died in 2007 and was a beautiful orange tabby himself) he went through it and displayed these traits and did these things.  I’m worried Hope’s litterbox use will change but she does sometimes use the pee pads we have down in the bathroom in case she cannot climb into the box.  She is good with that at least.  The issues at hand this morning were she was on the nightstand and I tried to lift her off it in my sleep and she slid off and then she went downstairs this morning and was trying to eat tissues out of the tissue box and she fell backwards.  I didn’t see exactly what took place, but she just slid off.  She landed on ALL FOURS and then went about going into the kitchen with me and ate her Fancy Feast when I fed her.  She is fine and all but she’s displaying more acts of not what I would call aggression, but more like extreme hunger.  I worry that she is extremely hungry.  She loves her treats and at 4 am I think they seem like a good idea to her but I don’t know if she is struggling with an excessive hunger and if she is—I’m sad about that then.  I don’t want her to struggle with that.  She has food out around the clock but she is one of those kitties who seems to enjoy the mere action of being fed by me, her human.  So, there’s all that and that’s my story about Hope for now.

*This was my Gorgeous— My Olli*

While I’m writing this, I’m being reminded by the song 46&2 by Tool that I need to work on my Shadow Work workbook a little which I will make a point to today.  I also will bring it down the shore with me this weekend when I go on Saturday.  We need to clear up a spot in the condo where there was a minor flood that messed up the carpet at the edge of my bedroom.  There needs to be a contractor that is approved by the Spinnaker, he needs to come out and fix the mess because the cement underneath the carpet has glue that the carpet is stuck to.  It smells a little funky there.  (Not as bad as it does on Sundays when my neighbors of Indian descent decide to cook, in my condo at home in North Wales) … it smells kind of like hot dogs at the condo in the bedroom that is mine at the shore.  (At least it doesn’t smell like mustard—haha, inside joke with the hubs) … anyways, I need to get down there, we have our friends’ John and Deanna (Herman) wedding next weekend and a concert in the middle of next week.  (Can’t wait to finally see Lacuna Coil!) … I want to focus on some writing while I’m down there.  I’ll miss Theo’s birthday party celebration on Saturday but at least he is getting some good Fortnite stuff from what seems like all of us!  I wish I could see my sister-in-law but we will find another time.  Love ya sis!

So, another great writer friend of mine through Substack, 

Maura McHugh

 mentioned me in a comment on her blog the other night and I got all the HAPPY feels.  That made my day so I want to mention her and her awesome and fascinating blog about life in Ireland.  I’m hoping by mentioning her maybe she can guest write for me a blog post of her own and maybe we can do that for each other.  That’d rock my socks! 

WHAT I AM READING:  Right now, I’m in a book called “The Darkness Of Others” by Cate Holahan.  If I am ambitious enough, I might read the rest of it today—I have 4 hours left of the book according to Kindle and usually that’s overestimated by an hour.  I do read quickly.  I just read “Malice” by Lisa Jackson which I was not sure I was going to finish but I’m glad I did.  The book started off slowly but by the end it was moving quickly and I was grateful I read it.  I like reading and trying different authors even if I’ll always come back to Stephen King as well as Elin Hilderbrand for familiarity and oh how much I just love their writing styles even if Mr. King kind of is a little gross in his depictions and his ideas of horror are kind of gory.  Mrs. Hilderbrand, she’s like chatting with an old girlfriend and hearing some well-described gossip.  After this read is “The Berry Pickers” by Amanda Peters which won numerous awards and was a National Bestseller and one of 2023’s best books by I think (I believe), the New York Times.  “Anita De Monte Laughs Last” by Xochitl Gonzalez was incredibly GOOD as I expected.  READ IT if you can.  It did not disappoint and I still wish I was reading it right now.  I love good books like that. 

*Random Read =) *

Hope came downstairs and I think that’s her way of saying “wrap it up Mommy and give me some Fancy Feast” to which, I will oblige.

Just a quick note: what happened at the school across the street from me is horrible. I am praying for everyone involved and the young girl who was traumatized and HURT when another young student hit her over the head with her Stanley Drinking Cup… how horrible and sick and just so sad and messed up how far these crimes have come out and that it’s now effected my very own district.

Thank you for reading, hope you have a great rest of your week and a fabulous and fantastic weekend ahead!

-xoxo-

Leave a comment